For the Norwegian Government Pension Fund Global


The Council Members are recommended by Norges Bank and appointed by the Ministry of Finance.

On 18 December 2014, the Ministry of Finance appointed the following members of the Council on Ethics:

Johan H. Andresen

Johan H. Andresen (Chair)

Andresen holds an MBA from Rotterdam School of Management, and is the owner and chairman of Ferd. His previous positions include that of Product Manager for International Paper Co. in the US and partner at the Tiedemann Group. He is a member of various boards, including SEB-Skandinaviske Enskilda Banken, NMI-Norwegian Microfinance Initiative and Junior Achievement Europe.

Hans Christian Bugge

Hans Christian Bugge (Vice Chair)

Bugge holds a doctorate in law from the University of Oslo and is currently Professor Emeritus at the Department of Public and International Law at the University of Oslo, focusing on national and international environmental law issues. He has previously held various civil service positions at the Ministry of Environment and Ministry of Finance, and been Director of the Norwegian Pollution Control Authority, Secretary General of Save the Children Norway and State Secretary in the Ministry of Development Cooperation.

Cecilie Hellestveit

Cecilie Hellestveit

Hellestveit is a lawyer by background, with a doctorate in humanitarian law from the University in Oslo. She also holds a degree in area- and conflict studies, with a particular emphasis on the Middle East. Hellestveit has worked at various research institutions, including PRIO, SMR, NUPI, IKOS and ILPI. She has been a non-resident fellow at the Atlantic Council in Washington DC, and is currently employed by the Norwegian Defense Establishment.  Hellestveit has previously held an appointment with the Immigration Appeals Board (UNE) and been a member of medical and health research ethics committees under South-Eastern Norway Regional Health Authority. She has served at the Norwegian Refugee Council’s board of directors, and has been a columnist on foreign affairs in the weekly Morgenbladet and the financial newspaper Dagens Næringsliv.

Brit Rugland
Rugland holds a Master of Management degree from BI Norwegian Business School. She is the CEO of Rugland Investering AS, Stavanger Investering AS and Rugland Finans AS. Rugland was a member of Norges Bank’s Executive Board from 2004 until 2013. In addition, she has served on the boards of Storebrand ASA (1995–2002) and Stavanger Aftenblad (2002–2010), and chaired the boards of Gassco AS (2001–2011) and Rogaland Theatre (2006–2016). Rugland currently sits on the boards of Talent Norge AS, Norfund AS and Kommunalbanken, and is Figgjo AS’ board chair.

Trude Myklebust
Myklebust is a lawyer from the University of Oslo and holds a MSc (res) from the School of Geography and Environment at the University of Oxford. She is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Oslo’s Department of Private Law. Myklebust spent many years at the Ministry of Finance, where she worked on ethical guidelines for and responsible management of Norway’s Government Pension Fund, among other matters. Myklebust has previously served as a deputy judge, and as a senior advisor for the Director of the Supreme Court of Norway. She has also authored a textbook on financial market law.